Montag, 1 August 2016 | 16:00 | Böllenfalltorhalle

Rückspiegel – Seven Works from Seven Decades: FERNEYHOUGH

Brian Ferneyhough: String Quartet No. 3 (1989/90)
(2 Performances + Lecture in English with German subtitles)

Arditti Quartet
Ulrich Mosch (Lecture)

The "Rückspiegel" [Retrospective] project will present seven works from seven decades of the Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music with sounds and words. The decisive factor in the selection was not so much the historical significance of the individual works as the question of how far each of them can stand for the discussions going on at the time of its creation, both in Darmstadt and elsewhere.


Towards the end of the 1980s and in the early 1990s, a number of composers took the structural approach to composition inherited from serialism and developed it further into a form of hyper-complexity. These efforts, which often took Brian Ferneyhough's work as a model and were labeled "New Complexity," were also a subject of lively discussion in Darmstadt.


The works:
31 July 2016 Stefan Prins: Piano Hero
1 August 2016 Brian Ferneyhough: String Quartet No. 3
2 August 2016 John Cage: Concert for Piano and Orchestra (1958)
6 August 2016 Wolfgang Rihm: Musik für drei Streicher (only one performance due to its duration of 45 minutes)
7 August 2016 Helmut Lachenmann: Intérieur I
10 August 2016: Luigi Nono: Polifonica – Monodia – Ritmica
14 August 2016 Isabel Mundry: Traces des moments


Tickets: 5 € (box office only)

Supported by Kulturstiftung des Bundes