Dienstag, 2 August 2016 | 16:00 | Lichtenbergschule (Sporthalle)

Rückspiegel – Seven Works from Seven Decades: CAGE

John Cage: Concert for Piano and Orchestra (1958)
(2 Performances + Lecture in English)

Franz Ferdinand August Rieks (Piano)
Studio Musikfabrik
Peter Veale (Musical Drection)
Ulrich Mosch (Lecture)

The "Rückspiegel" [Retrospective] project will present seven works from seven decades of the Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music with sounds and words. The decisive factor in the selection was not so much the historical significance of the individual works as the question of how far each of them can stand for the discussions going on at the time of its creation, both in Darmstadt and elsewhere.


While the first decade of the Summer Course was largely characterized by the "(note) row," the subsequent one was initially dominated by "chance." Even though Concert for Piano and Orchestra was not on the program alongside the various lectures and piano works when John Cage paid his much-noted first visit to the course in 1958, it represents more clearly than most pieces the role of chance in his musical thought at the time.


The works:
31 July 2016 Stefan Prins: Piano Hero
1 August 2016 Brian Ferneyhough: String Quartet No. 3
2 August 2016 John Cage: Concert for Piano and Orchestra (1958)
6 August 2016 Wolfgang Rihm: Musik für drei Streicher (only one performance due to its duration of 45 minutes)
7 August 2016 Helmut Lachenmann: Intérieur I
10 August 2016 Luigi Nono: Polifonica – Monodia – Ritmica
14 August 2016 Isabel Mundry: Traces des moments

Tickets: 5 € (box office only)

Supported by Kulturstiftung des Bundes