Mittwoch, 10 August 2016 | 16:00 | Lichtenbergschule (Sporthalle)

Rückspiegel – Seven Works from Seven Decades: NONO

Luigi Nono: Polifonica – Monodia – Ritmica (1951)
(2 Performances + Lecture in English)

Participants and tutors of the Darmstadt Summer Course
Leonhard Garms (Musical Direction)  
Ulrich Mosch (Lecture) 

The "Rückspiegel" [Retrospective] project will present seven works from seven decades of the Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music with sounds and words. The decisive factor in the selection was not so much the historical significance of the individual works as the question of how far each of them can stand for the discussions going on at the time of its creation, both in Darmstadt and elsewhere.


In the time around 1950, the work of Arnold Schönberg was initially given particular attention in Darmstadt. In his Variazioni canoniche sulla serie dell'op. 41 di Arnold Schönberg for orchestra from 1950, which was premiered there the same year, Luigi Nono still referred explicitly to the inventor of the note row principle. The ensemble piece Polifonica ‒ Monodia ‒ Ritmica, presented the following year, already showed the influence of Anton Webern. The work was played in a version cut by over a third by Hermann Scherchen, the conductor of the premiere. This version, which later became the published work, is here played alongside the complete original version.


The works:
31 July 2016 Stefan Prins: Piano Hero
1 August 2016 Brian Ferneyhough: String Quartet No. 3
2 August 2016 John Cage: Concert for Piano and Orchestra
6 August 2016 Wolfgang Rihm: Musik für drei Streicher (only one performance due to its duration of 45 minutes)
7 August 2016 Helmut Lachenmann: Intérieur I
10 August 2016: Luigi Nono: Polifonica – Monodia – Ritmica
14 August 2016 Isabel Mundry: Traces des moments

Tickets: 5 € (box office only)

Supported by Kulturstiftung des Bundes